Author Topic: Setting up a L2TP VPN on the SSG5  (Read 19172 times)

remino

• View Profile
Setting up a L2TP VPN on the SSG5
« on: August 01, 2008, 07:11:17 pm »
Hi,

I'm new here and I need someone's help.  I can't say I'm an expert at configuring routers, but I can work my way around our SSG5 router.  Please bare with me!

I simply need to set a VPN on the router to let some people from outside access our LAN.  We don't need any fancy authentication: just one username and password for all will be fine.

I tried setting up our Windows Server 2003 as a PPTP VPN server, but while I can connect to it with VPN clients, the server somehow cannot relay DHCP calls to our router.  I find that very odd, since all our workstations can work with our router's DHCP service.  Anyway, I gave up trying to configure Windows Server 2003.

We have two DSL connections, on ethernet0/0 and ethernet0/1.  They are both in the Untrust zone and do not belong to any group.  The ports ethernet0/4 to 0/6 and wireless0/0 and 0/1 are all part of the bgroup0.  They are in the Trust zone and constitute the local gateway, at IP address 192.168.1.1.

After running the wizard with different options and ways to configure the VPN, I can't seem to figure it out.  Once the setup is done, I try to connect to our new VPN using a computer outside our LAN and it can't connect.

Is there anyone out there who can help a novice like me?  Maybe a tutorial or a how-to, or just a few pointers could help.

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 07:13:38 pm by remino »

NS/XP

• View Profile
Re: Setting up a L2TP VPN on the SSG5
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 01:09:31 pm »
For an step by step dialup VPN config I would recommend

VPN & Netscreen Romote

or

VPN & Windows native client

Best regards
« Last Edit: August 02, 2008, 01:15:06 pm by NS/XP »

remino

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2008, 02:49:35 pm »
Thanks, NS/XP, but this is not working for me.