Author Topic: SSG 5 powering up but......  (Read 4628 times)

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
SSG 5 powering up but......
« on: October 25, 2008, 06:00:51 am »

'Afternoon all.

just inherited an SSG5 with the following symptoms.

Apply power.

power led comes on solid green.

tx/rx and link lights come on solid green on all the ethernet ports.

Sits there with everything green and that's it.

Nothing on serial console.


Tried the reset process, power LED switches to red when reset button is pushed in.

No change after working through reset.

All insight gratefully accepted.


Thanks

Greg




c0d3r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 03:13:00 am »
may be a dumb question : is your serial cable working ?
settings on your serial terminal client ok ?
(just ruling out the possibility that it's caused by the cables or equipment)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
http://www.corelan.be:8800
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

dogmcbone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2008, 05:01:34 am »
This device seems to freeze before it can even manage to start the bootloader. I had one at work too, changing the power supply got it back . Maybe that could do the trick for you too.

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2008, 05:35:26 am »
This device seems to freeze before it can even manage to start the bootloader. I had one at work too, changing the power supply got it back . Maybe that could do the trick for you too.



Serial cable is fine. As 'dogmcbone' says, it doesn't even get to the bootloader.

Dodgy PSU did come to mind, but I wanted to counsel some opinion before going that that route.

ebay here we come.

Thanks chaps.

Greg

nw56

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2008, 03:09:18 pm »
I had the same problem with an inherited SSG-5 wireless (5.4.0r1.0).  I dont remember the exact status of the lights, but all the ethernet lights on sounds the same.
I found that if I plugged in a Lan or Wan connection (not sure which), then the device would boot.  The boot messages via the Console appeared normal.

Once booted, I tried resetting the device via the reset button and the Console but neither worked.  Resetting via the serial number method did work (username & password = SN).

After that, the device would work normally (ie, boot with nothing connected, normal lights) with the same firmware.  I power cycled it lots of times with no problems and it has since worked fine.

I concluded that the config had somehow got itself into an unusual state (eg, powered off before the previous reset finished).

I thought it might be power as well and actually got a new one power supply before I discovered this solution (I guess the first power supply might have caused the problem if it was faulty).

Cheers   

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2008, 03:01:54 am »

Thanks for the update,

I tried booting with a live lan connection but no joy.

I've ordered up a new PSU, should be here in a day or two. Will keep you posted.


Greg





Claytons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2008, 07:22:23 am »
I have the same exact problem with a 1 month old SSG5. Worked fine but yesterday it started having a problem adding ospf routes to the table. OSPF kept going up and down. I rebooted, all the LEDs on the BG ports came on solid and a whole lot of no worky...

Claytons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2008, 08:56:54 am »
Spoke to Juniper Support. Aparently there is no fix. They are replacing the unit.

I would add if anyone see's whacky stuff going on with OSPF that was working fine. backup before rebooting. I did and the config worked fine in our spare unit.

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2008, 09:23:27 am »
Spoke to Juniper Support. Aparently there is no fix. They are replacing the unit.

Thanks for the feedback Clayton.

Not what I needed to hear.
Not having a support contract for the unit and all that stuff.

Just waiting on the new PSU to arrive with fingers crossed.


Greg

Claytons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2008, 09:24:21 am »
Did you measure the voltage on the PSU first ?

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2008, 11:26:50 am »
Did you measure the voltage on the PSU first ?

Just tried the replacement PSU, no joy.  Dang!

Looks like this SSG5 has the same issue you had.

Unit is 14 months old,  as I said, I have no means of RMA'ing it back to Juniper for replacement.

Any one know if this is a general issue with SSG 5s and use that to angle for a swapout ?


Thanks

Greg




 

Claytons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2008, 11:36:39 am »
No, bit scary though. Just put a ton in service.

getjpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SSG 5 powering up but......
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 12:32:14 pm »
No, bit scary though. Just put a ton in service.

Thanks for the pointer. Looks like 'coreplus' is the one.


Greg